

Battle of the Books Senior Author List

All authors on this list will be used for Senior Battle of the Books 2024. Senior Battle questions are based on *any* books written by these authors, particularly those books published in the past 3-4 years.

Table 1 Senior Author List

Bradley, Kimberly Brubaker

Brown, Peter

Chmakova, Svetlana **Chokski**, Roshani **Christmas**, Johnnie

Craft, Jerry
Daniel, Daniella
Dimaline, Cherie
Egan, Catherine
Florence, Melanie
Fung, Rosena

Grabenstein, Chris

Gratz, Alan

Gibbs, Stuart

Haddix, Margaret Peterson

Hiassen, Carl Hicks, Faith Erin Hill, Lawrence Johnson, Terry Lynn

Johnson, Varian

Keller, Tae

Kelly, Erin Entrada King, Thomas King, Wesley Korman, Gordon Latham, Irene Lincoln, Beth Magoon, Kekla Mahoney, Meaghan

McMann, Lisa Mejia, Tehlor Kay Messenger, Shannon

Miller, Kayla Namisato, David Nelson, Colleen Nielsen, Susin O'Neill, Kay Oppel, Kenneth

Ortega, Claribel **Patterson**, James

Peters, Shawn **Pichon**, Liz

Reynolds, Justin A.

Riordan, Rick Rosen, Suri Sands, Kevin Schwarz, Larry Scrimger, Richard Shamas, Nadia

Soontornvat, Christina **Stewart**, Trenton Lee

Stone, Nic

Tavares, Matt

Telegemeier, Raina

Torres, J Ursu, Anne

VanSickle, Winnowing

Verditti, Robert Walters, Eric Warga, Jasmine Young, Ethan



Award Winner Category

Questions in this category are based on books written by the above authors for titles that were honoured or won the following awards in the past ten years:

- <u>Forest of Reading</u>: Review Forest of Reading titles for the current and past few years. Focus on Red Maple titles (Senior), Silver Birch (Senior and Junior), and Silver Birch Express, including any non-fiction titles (Junior)
 - Only winners, not nominees, may be used in the Award Winner question category.
 - Nominees and winners may be used in the other seven question categories (please see <u>Battle of the Books web page</u>).
- <u>John Newbery Medal</u> (includes both winners and honours titles)
- Randolph Caldecott Medal (includes both winners & honours titles)
- Theodor Seuss Giesel Award
- Eisner Awards
- <u>Kids' Book Choice Awards</u> formerly Children's & Teen Choice Book Awards (only winners, not finalists)
- <u>National Book Award Young People's Literature</u> (only winners, not finalists)
- Scott O'Dell Awards
- TD Canadian Children's Literature Award