

Battle of the Books Junior Author List

All authors on this list will be used for Junior Battle of the Books 2024. Junior Battle questions are based on *any* books, including series, written by these authors, particularly those books published in the past 3-4 years.

Table 1 Junior Author List

Alston, BB

Anderson, Tara

Applegate, Katherine

Armstrong, Kelley

Auxier, Jonathan **Bandali**, Zain

Barrows. Annie

Bell, Cece

Black, Holly

Boothby, Ian

Brallier, Max

Chabert, Jack

Chainani, Soman

Charman, Katrina

Chmakova, Svetlana

Christmas. Johnnie

Clare. Cassandra

Cowell. Cressida

Crenshaw, Ellen

Cummings, Troy

Delaney, Rachel

DiCamillo, Kate

Elliott, Rebecca

Elliott, Zetta

Fawcett, Heather

Flintham, Thomas

Fullerton, Alma

Gibbs, Stuart

Griffiths, Andy

Haddix, Margaret Peterson

Hale, Shannon

Harrell. Rob

Hendrix, Isi

Hill, Lawrence

Holm, Jennifer

Humphrey, Anna

Kaner, Etta

Karadusman, Michelle

Keller, Tae

Kelly, Erin Entrada

Kinney, Jeff

Korman, Gordon

Kraus, Daniel

Lai, Remy

Lawrence, lain

Lyall, Casey

May, Kayla

Medina, Meg

Milan, Zanib

Namisato. David

Nelson, Colleen

O'Neill, Kay

Oliver, Jamie

Peirce. Lincoln

Pichon, Liz

Pilkey, Dav

Ramadan, Danny

Reynolds, Justin A.

Ruths, Mitali Banjeree

Sell, Chad

Smith, Heather

Soontornvat, Christina

Sylvester, Kevin

Torres, J

Vo, Nancy

Wagner, Megan

Walliams, David

Walters, Eric

Warga, Jasmine

Watson, Renee

West, Tracey

White, Kiersten

Woodley, Aaron

Yang, Kelly

Yee, Lisa

Zhao, Xiran Jay



Award Winner Category

Questions in this category are based on books written by the above authors for titles that were honoured or won the following awards in the past ten years:

- <u>Forest of Reading</u>: Review Forest of Reading titles for the current and past few years. Focus on Red Maple titles (Senior), Silver Birch (Senior and Junior), and Silver Birch Express, including any non-fiction titles (Junior)
 - Only winners, not nominees, may be used in the Award Winner question category.
 - Nominees and winners may be used in the other seven question categories (please see <u>Battle of the Books web page</u>).
- <u>John Newbery Medal</u> (includes both winners and honours titles)
- Randolph Caldecott Medal (includes both winners & honours titles)
- Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
- Eisner Awards
- <u>Kids' Book Choice Awards</u> formerly Children's & Teen Choice Book Awards (only winners, not finalists)
- <u>National Book Award Young People's Literature</u> (only winners, not finalists)
- Scott O'Dell Awards
- TD Canadian Children's Literature Award